Search Site
Menu
155 NE 100th St., Suite 210 | Seattle, Washington 98125
206-402-5214
DUI

Definition of a DUI

A person is guilty of a DUI if he/she drives a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over .08% or higher or if their ability to drive is impaired or affected by alcohol or drugs.  Washington’s implied consent law dictates that having a driver’s license represents the holder’s agreement to take a breath or blood test to determine whether drugs or alcohol are present in one’s system.  If a person refuses to submit to a BAC, their privilege to drive would be forfeited for at least one year.  The maximum penalty for a DUI is 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine as well as other collateral and probationary conditions established by the court.

DUI grid

If charged with a DUI, you need an experienced DUI attorney who is well versed in the subtle intricacies of DUI law. In Washington, a DUI is a serious criminal charge with significant collateral consequences including, but not limited to, mandatory confinement, mandatory fines, suspension of your driver’s license, and five years of probation.

It is imperative you act quickly to safeguard your rights and to protect your privilege to drive. A DUI arrest triggers two separate acts that could suspend or revoke your driver’s license: (1) An administrative process through the Department of Licensing to suspend your license and (2) Revocation of your license through a DUI conviction through the Court.  You need an experienced DUI attorney who is knowledgeable about both proceedings.

On September 28, 2013, the Legislature enacted the following changes to RCW 46.61.5055:

BAC Result under .15 or No Test Result

No Prior Offenses One Prior Offense 2 or 3 Prior Offenses
Mandatory Jail Time 24 consecutive hours 30 days 90 days
If Passenger under 16 Mandatory Jail Time Additional 24 hours Additional 5 days Additional 10 days
EHM/Jail Alternative 15 Days in Lieu of Jail 60 Days Mandatory/ 4 Days Mail Minimum 120 Days Mandatory/8 Days Jail Minimum
Mandatory Minimum Fine $940.50 $1,195.50 $2,045.50
If Passenger under 16 Minimum/Range $1,000/$1,000-$5,000 + assessments $1,000/$2,000-$5,000 + assessments $1,000/$3,000-$5,000 + assessments
Drivers License 90-day suspension 2-year revocation 3-year revocation
II Drivers License II Device DOL Imposed DOL Imposed DOL Imposed
If Passenger under 16 II Device Additional 6 months Additional 6 months Additional 6 months
24/7 Sobriety Program N/A As Ordered Mandatory
Alcohol/Drug Ed./Victim Impact or Treatment As Ordered As Ordered As Ordered
Expanded alcohol assessment/treatment N/A As Ordered Mandatory/treatment if appropriate

See /wp-content/uploads/sites/5837/2017/08/duiGrid_20130928.pdf

BAC Result OVER .15 or Test Refusal

No Prior Offenses One Prior Offense 2 or 3 Prior Offenses
Mandatory Jail Time 48 consecutive hours 45 days 120 days
If Passenger under 16 Mandatory Jail Time Additional 24 hours Additional 5 days Additional 10 days
EHM/Jail Alternative 30 Days in Lieu of Jail 90 Days Mandatory/ 6 Days Mail Minimum 150 Days Mandatory/10 Days Jail Minimum
Mandatory Minimum Fine $1,190.50 $1,620.50 $2,895.50
If Passenger under 16 Minimum/Range $1,000/$1,000-$5,000 + assessments $1,000/$2,000-$5,000 + assessments $1,000/$3,000-$5,000 + assessments
Drivers License 1 year Revocation; 2 years if BAC Refused 900-Days Revocation; 3 years if BAC refused 4 year Revocation
II Drivers License II Device DOL Imposed DOL Imposed DOL Imposed
If Passenger under 16 II Device Additional 6 months Additional 6 months Additional 6 months
24/7 Sobriety Program N/A As Ordered Mandatory
Alcohol/Drug Ed./Victim Impact or Treatment As Ordered As Ordered As Ordered
Expanded alcohol assessment/treatment N/A As Ordered Mandatory/treatment if appropriate

See /wp-content/uploads/sites/5837/2017/08/duiGrid_20130928.pdf

Does a DUI affect my commercial driver’s license?

There are also very serious consequences for those who have a commercial driver’s license (CDL).  With a DUI arrest and a breath test at or above a .08 or a breath test refusal, the DOL will move to suspend or revoke your underlying driver’s license for at least 90 days.  Without this license, you cannot have a CDL.  If you lose the DOL hearing, you will be disqualified from holding a CDL for either 1 year (first offense) or for life (second offense).  If the DUI charge is reduced to a Reckless Driving, you will lose your CDL for 60 days or 120 days if there have been two or more “serious traffic violations” within the previous three years.  If the DUI charge is reduced to a Negligent Driving 1st Degree, there is no CDL disqualification.  Lastly, entering into a deferred prosecution will not save your CDL.  A deferred prosecution will stay the revocation of your underlying drivers license, but your CDL will still be disqualified.  You would have to win your DOL hearing on your underlying license to keep your CDL.

Review My Case for Free

An attorney will review your case within 24 hours, and we will reach out with next steps.

Quick Contact Form

Recognition
Testimonials
  • "Successful defense: A family member was charged with a misdemeanor and then another later on. Ms. Hart was able to successfully defend them, and my family member wound up with no criminal record. She was easy to work with and very competent in my opinion. "  -Richard

  • "This was my fist time ( hopefully my last ) Melissa was with me every step of the way, she help me get the trust and confidence I needed and it all turned out good at the end and am very grateful for that.........THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP"  -Bas

  • "outstanding attorney! I found Melissa to be a true legal expert in the area of auto accidents. I have no doubt she got me the best possible outcome and reward for my recent two collisions..."  -Billy

  • "This review is extremely tardy, but VERY well deserved. In the spring of 2015, Melissa represented me in a delicate matter, and she was superb. Melissa not only knows her field, but she also TRULY CARES."  -Steven

  • "Very knowledgeable and super helpful: Melissa was recommended to me for assistance by my chiropractor and she was wonderful. I had a very successful consultation phone call and she helped me to organize and resolve my challenges."  -Jordan

  • "I would highly recommend Melissa to anyone needing a lawyer. My son had been in/out of jail for the last few years when he was arrested on felony drug charges and placed in King County jail..."  -Kimberly

  • "Great Lawyer: Melissa did a great job on my case, working with me every step of the way and keeping me informed. She was great and I would hire her again if I needed to (hopefully I won't need to)"  -anonymous

  • "A Lawyer With A Heart ❤️ : Melissa came in highly recommended to me by a friend. I have never done this process before and my stress level was to the max, because they waited the very last minute to proceed with my lawsuit..."  -Erica

  • "Exceptional Traffic Collision Lawyer: I would recommend Melissa Odama Hart to anyone who has been in a collision, whether you are at fault or not at fault. She has exceptional legal knowledge and judgment in collision law..."  -Amanda

Our Office
  • Seattle Office
    155 NE 100th St.
    Suite 210
    Seattle, Washington 98125
    Phone: 206-402-5214
    Fax: 206-299-9944
Verdicts and Settlements